Workshop: Business model design: Wien: Testimonials

home > workshops > workshops schedule > workshop: business model design: wien > testimonials

 

Testimonials

Workshop:

Business Models Design

Place:

The Business and Industry Zone Tezno, Maribor

Date:

October 24th & 25th, 2013

Helena Franca, Independent Design Professional

The workshop was dynamic and it certainly offered a lot of interesting cues.

 

The starting point was the business models design, but such experience includes also aspects of a teamwork, adaption to new situations, quick thinking and optimizing the performance.

 

It’s commendable that special emphasis has been devoted to the presentation of design thinking process, which plays a key role in designing new business models and consequently has a major impact on the long-term development of enterprises. —Helena Franca, Independent Design Professional

Read more >

Danilo Kozoderc, Education and Innovation Management Consultant

First, a general assessment of the workshop: Satisfied!

 

In the past I’ve already been on a similar but shorter workshop. I have already used Business Model Canvas for the reflection of our own business model. And I have even put Canvas in some training that I’ve undertaken. From the workshop, I expected to deepen that knowledge, and that I’ll be able to work on my own business model.

 

In designing its own business model I see a key problem in the fragmentation. Many small areas, taking time and energy, and one cannot draw a whole from a financial point of view. But they have a common denominator and challenges is how through this common denominator connect the dots together or maybe to cut some things off.

 

My feelings at the workshop were comfortable. There were no aversions. I liked the way of learning by working.

 

I would even attend another similar workshop. I love to work in on one business model in several iterations. And gain some new knowledge about the business models design.

 

The key value that I gained at the workshop is my awareness of the need to do prototyping of business models. One doesn’t necessarily need to use a lot of time for each iteration.

 

At the workshop I enjoyed the most the rapid prototyping of the business models and the spaghetti game. At least I liked some parts of the guest lecture.

 

If I name the three things at the workshop that were the most useful to me: + the mode of working, which was a very dynamic and cooperative; working in groups and the time limit which gives me inspiration for my own trainings; Marko’s slightly provocative way of coaching inspired me for my own work; + a practice of making business models itself; + Four variants of a business model for my case.

 

I will recommend this workshop to others because they will improve the skill of business models design, which is useful when considering one’s own company or project. If they already have a concrete idea or even a company, they will be motivated to reevaluate or reconsider it. —Danilo Kozoderc, Education and Innovation Management Consultant.

Read more >

Tina Koder Grajzar, Arts and Crafts Designer

The workshop was an informative and interesting experience for me. I came without expectation since it was my husband’s initiative. He found out about the workshop via Facebook. Since we are both freelancers We are always glad some—especially, of course free of charge—opportunities to gain new skills. And so we came to Maribor.

 

I work as an independent artist in culture, I design and sell products with my own copyright patterns of Idrija lace. With business models design I haven’t been encountered before, but I have touched this area a couple of times. The first time in the college, at the course Entrepreneurship (within the study of Textile and Fashion Design at the University of Ljubljana), then with the group of young at the Chamber of Commerce and probably again sometime so by the way. My field of work—unique design—is a very specific and some things (including some insights from the workshop) are difficult to implement for me. Above all, for me everything is happening at a very “micro” level. Nevertheless, the workshop was useful for me.

 

I liked in particular that the Business Model Canvas was in the spotlight. We had it all the time in front of us and through tasks we gradually memorized it. This approach seemed very interesting and effective, but I was a little scared in the beginning. I expected, namely that I’ll be a listener with much more passive role. So it took me some time to get used to it and switched to get activated.

 

Intervals for the preparation of solutions were in my mode of work a little too short, especially at the beginning, when we had to get acquainted with different areas on Canvas as well as between members of the group. Maybe it would make sense that the time between the tasks progressively shortens and is not always the same.

 

I find it interesting that I was at the end of the workshop still full of energy. After four hours of more “classic” lectures I’m usually bulky. Of course, I’ll be glad to recommendations workshop to someone else.

 

I must recommend Marko’s professional approach and communication before, during and now after the workshop.

 

Thanks and best regards. —Tina Koder Grajzar, Arts and Crafts Designer

 Read more >

Borut Jurišić, Desk Officer, Maribor Development Agency

As I have already advised at the workshop, I personally would certainly introduce the participants of the workshop with some ” pre- story” before Business Model Canvas through which they would find themselves in the value chain (as defined by Skinner from London Business School). That has proved very necessary when we worked on the example of an educational institution. Why? Simple as that. We saw that there are three quite diverse value propositions and we do not know where to put ourselves. If the value chain would be elaborated, we would know where we belong (meaning, what we have in hands, and on that we can then build our business model).

 

Otherwise—unfortunately I have to give one criticism…
All together reminded me of an elementary school block hour in which we can see that the teacher is poorly prepared. It was a team work, where each group was to present what was designed—others should listen—and then work on the following example. There was no time for reflection about the feedback that any given group became. However, it was expected that all groups quietly listened to an explanation for the next group. That is to say, until the break, where we could finally talk about some case, there was so much information that you no longer remember most of the stuff and reflection is no longer meaningful. But if you cannot, within a group with which you work, make some analysis of what you’re doing, you’re not learning and you cannot remember your skills or internalize them truly. It reminded to solving mathematical equations, where each student comes to the board and resolves without really understanding what he’s doing.

 

Of course, they were also strong points of the workshop, but were not pronounced enough. For example, Business Model Canvas can be a great tool for pitching. It can be an excellent basis for the presentation of business ideas, especially when you have to accumulate financial resources for the implementation of the business plan. And absolutely, the The Marshmallow Challenge was very welcome, as it turned out, that too many people think too much and start late to concretise their ideas.

 

I hope that my feedback will help future workshop programmes for future participants. —Borut Jurisic, Desk Officer, Maribor Development Agency

Read more >


Workshop:

Business Models Design

Place:

Pomurje Technology Park in Ljutomer

Date:

October 18th & 19th, 2013

Nives Sapač, Project Manager, Pomurje Technology Park

Each individual tested himself and found out to what he or she pays attention and to what not. I’ve learned that for an effective business model we have to combine real and emotional expectations. Work on cases gives you the real picture of your personal approach to resolution and pledging for the right business model of your company.

 

At the workshop I liked the most, a brief and understandable Business Model Canvas presentation, work in groups and the end-analysis of each group, including the final processing to the correct solution of the business model.

 

From the workshop experience I received a confirmation that my setting and designing of business models is in the right direction. In future I would be happy to attend similar workshops, as they bring a lot in a short amount of time. —Nives Sapač, Project Manager, Pomurje Technology Park

 Read more >

Mitja Milič, manager, ZC Korak

Personally, I was pleased with the workshop because I needed a confirmation of how to proceed with my career.

 

I have gained additional confidence and got the answers about my dilemma. I think I’m on the right track, as well as tackling the issue in the right way. I also got additional ideas, in particular a suitable tool for more systematic in my work.

 

I’d be happy to attend some more training sessions in the future, when that will be possible. —Mitja Milič, Project Manager, manager, ZC Korak

Read more >

Majda Robić, Executive Director, World Hemp Congress

The workshop opens up completely new horizons in the preparation of business plans and presented Business Model Canvas opens up the existing holes in the very layout of the business system.

 

The Hemp World Congress team has by using knowledge from the workshop perfected the business plan for known foreign investors. We deal with the existing holes in the system development of the project European Technology Development Centre of the Industrial Hemp and new funding opportunities. We will continue to process additional new and original ways of funding the system and strengthening the backbone of the project… of course, because of the new knowledge acquired at the workshop.

 

The desire of our international team (the largest producer of hemp in the world from Australia; Valerio Zuccrini from Italy as an innovator and lecturer; and the German BMW team, which deals with hemp innovation of the BMW car) is to host a business design workshop for the leading international partners of the project in August next year at the World Congress Hemp.

 

Individual approaches in the workshop opened new horizons in our team.

 

Thank you! Majda Robić, Executive Director, World Hemp Congress

Read more >


Workshop:

Business Model Generation for the communications consultancy Consensus

Place:

Consensus HQ

Date:

October 7th & 8th, 2013

Luka Madjar, Junior Consultant, Consensus

The first time I heard about the business model generation was in the 2010 at a summer school in the Netherlands and then again in the 2011 in Vienna. In the first and second case, tutors did not know how to use it, really. They used it more to ensure that we got a macro view on what is necessary to think about when thinking about business ideas. The big difference is also if you use the Business Model Canvas in the company of students with no real business experience or with the group of coworkers at your company, as it was the case in our workshop. This second experience with Marko was better.

 

Expectations prior to the workshop… I’ve seen as an opportunity that we as a team move away from a daily routine, and that we have a useful team building, look at things from a fresh perspective, get to know the method that would benefit us in the work of the future.

 

At the workshop I felt good. It was a 100 % offset of the daily work routine. Time limit to nine minutes to design each business model is otherwise stressful, but I understand the point of it. And I do plan to attend similar workshops. After this workshop, I was clearer about the potential application of the method. I believe I’m going to use it again.

 

At the workshop I enjoyed the most the dynamic teamwork of the entire company and external partners. I was the least satisfied with the nine minute time restrictions and lack of focus in the design of business models, especially the second day, when we were designing concrete examples. But, to name the most useful matters: + teamwork; + business models design methodology training; + a significant deviation from the everyday routine of public relations management.

 

I will recommend the workshop to the team of the Regional Centre of the Creative Cconomy at the RDA LUR and to a colleague who is taking over the family business and dealing with the problem of generational change, the crisis in business and a lack of vision and occupied colleagues. —Luka Madjar, Junior Consultant, Consensus

 Read more >

Darinka Pek Drapal, CEO and partner, Consensus

Before the workshop I was not familiar with the methodology of Business Model Generation. Nevertheless, my expectation prior to the workshop were significant. Maybe even too high (If I look back now retrospectively). As the director of Consensus, of course, I have to actively participate in the design business models design.

 

I see many problems in the business models design; in particular, it seems to me that before designing you have to perform a pretty good analysis of the situation (snapshot); work on business models – as we have practiced these days, seems to me more like a wish list than as serious work. I am very sceptical to defining revenue streams without in-depth defined knowledge that you will reach your target groups, or not…

 

I’m missing a set of obstacles and a detailed description of the competition, a description of the market, where you wish to enter… because I find this essential to a business model definition (where am I different, where am I better, how am I going to communicate, etc…). These are all unknowns that business models which are highly susceptible to a business model.. Anyway, I wonder whether the presented business model design methodology is useful in our work and in planning, designing what? Development of the Consensus as a whole, the development of new products, etc… In short, the business model design method presented to me does not seem so efficient in the case of Consensus, that it could be successful because of it… and these are actually the problems that I see in the design of our business model.

 

At the workshop itself, I feel good otherwise. In the future, I do not know if I will attend similar workshops in an advanced stage because right now I can’t imagine, what would that be? The key value that I have gained from the workshop, is teamwork or better to say team building for our company.

 

The things I liked the most in this workshop: + we almost rediscovered the importance of thinking in a team (because we at Consensus are essentially individualistically oriented); and + that Marko pretty well manoeuvred among us and kept us in order and discipline, because we (as a result of individualism) are sometimes difficult to tame… in short discipline.

 

The selected examples didn’t impress me, because I’m well aware of Nespresso and Tata cases and I really have not learned anything new in these two cases. I didn’t like that there were products selected as cases and not services; that cases were not sufficiently analytically explained, but very much on a publicly visible platform known to anyone who has ever opened any business media. And from the introductory lecture, I expected a little more – more depth, perhaps more theory… the problem could be that in our company, we always think about our client’s management, leadership, their services and products and all that in a very comprehensive manner. We are different than probably other companies that don’t have such a width as we’ve got in our thinking.

 

To name three things that were the most useful for me in the workshop: + colour reflection; + teamwork; and + speed and efficiency.

 

Would I recommend the workshop to my friends? On this question I can’t answer right now, since I don’t have friends and acquaintances who would require the business models design. Maybe in some specific problem with some of our clients, of course, will I consider using this methodology. —Darinka Pek Drapal, CEO and partner, Consensus

Read more >

Lucija Mak Uhan, communications consultant

Before the workshop I haven’t been introduced to business models. I didn’t even think about them. I took participation at the workshop as a challenge, as new experience.

 

The two-day workshop was otherwise very tiring because Marko was inexorable and takes care that no second aimed at the workshop is lost. Very little theorizing, the right amount of examples of successful business models from the real world, and a lot of practical work. That’s why I enjoyed the workshop. It certainly proofs that we can, together, with different views design a very interesting business models.

 

Sometimes I thought that there should be more preparation for the workshop and a better understanding of the topics covered in the design of business models, but in that way there was a special charm. I highly recommend. —Lucija Mak Uhan, communications consultant

Read more >


Workshop:

Business Models workshop for the
Development Agency Sora, Škofja Loka

Place:

Škofja Loka municipality

Date:

May 7th, 2013

Snežna Šušteršič

Although I was one of the slightly more experienced during the workshop in Škofja Loka, at the same time I was completely free of expectations. Namely, I didn’t know the Business Model Canvas at the time.

 

The lecture began very “school” like. Which I in the times of informal education and long after high school I somehow didn’t expect. So, at the beginning I didn’t understand how will the workshop progress.

 

When we started designing a business models using Canvas, workshop came to life. I fully understood the purpose of cooperation and communication in groups. It would be very good if we would feedback the processes in the groups, who took up the roles of manager, facilitator, worker…

 

I liked the time pressure, although it was obvious that some didn’t feel comfortable with the strict disrupting interactions on a second. I think that method is not used enough in the workplace, although such experience comes in handy later at an employment. Perhaps the workshop was too short and it would be better if the first part, the introduction would be shortened to gain some time for the closure.

 

I am very happy today with the knowledge and experience received. Even after a few days, I’m reviewing the experience and found a lot of space for improvement of our models.

 

Thank you for an enjoyable experience and at the same time for the wake-up call.
—Snežna Šušteršič

Read more >


Workshop:

Business Model Generation

Place:

Kino Šiška Centre for Urban Culture, Ljubljana

Date:

December 8th, 2012

Andrej (Tešky) Težak, Studio Smijeha & Ceh za smeh

I went to the workshop Business Model Generation without any expectations. The reason was I was in a couple of workshops before and didn’t get much out of it.

 

This was the first time I could actually take something from the workshop, some concrete things and developed it for my business model.

 

 

At the workshop I got the answers to some key questions, in particular, it has helped me understand the key elements of the business model.

 

 

I found new perspectives for the business, put in my memory some really good impressions and flashes from the lecturer …

 

I’ll keep in touch after one year and tell you how did my business model improved the functioning of the club and how did it moved our business into positive figures from red gone to heaven :). +Andrej (Tešky) Težak, Owner & Head Manager, Studio Smijeha & Ceh za smeh

Read more >
Andrej (Tešky) Težak, Owner & Head Manager at Studio Smijeha & Ceh za smeh

Andrej (Tešky) Težak, Owner & Head Manager at Studio Smijeha & Ceh za smeh

Oskar Arko

The workshop, led by Marko Savić, is primarily a representation of the business model canvas. But only with practical examples and a large number of exercises we realize the true value of this model. Guidance through the iterations of business models, which are becoming more sophisticated, leaves the participants of the workshop a feeling of proficient approach and acquired knowledge.

 

 

The experience and knowledge gained in this workshop enables the presentation of new projects on the whole new level. In particular, the value of this workshop is that now the business model is to be built by the interaction between all those involved in the project. This is an intuitive approach to the design of the business models using canvas, well supported by rules.

 

+Oskar Arko

Read more >

Blaž Branc, Baltazar marketing

Canvas business model, Business Model Generation, start ups … All the buzz words. I was attracted to the December 8th workshop because of the integrated approach: Saturday, Kino Šiška Centre for Urban Culture in Ljubljana, a full day of training to work with Canvas, attractive price – and I went.

 

 

For me, it is essential that I got hands-on experience on how to use Canvas; case looks like a simple sheet of paper online, but you have to understand the concept you know. And that’s not quite so easy as it seems.

 

I would highly recommend the content of the workshop and Marko’s execution! Thus, managers who have the opportunity to realize the power of creativity to grow as creatives, you will see that every great idea needs a supportive ecosystem of the remaining 8 Canvas fields, otherwise it will remain just a great idea on paper. +Blaž Branc, Baltazar marketing

Read more >
Blaž Branc, marketing manager, conceptual sales engineer, HRM, lecturer and coach

Blaž Branc, marketing manager, conceptual sales engineer, HRM, lecturer and coach


Workshop:

Design your new business models

Place:

Slovene Ethnographic Museum, Ljubljana

Date:

March 29th, 2012

Irena Čebulj, Head of Marketing Communications at Gorenjska banka

The workshop was useful for two reasons.

 

Firstly, because it shows how to eliminate the unnecessary in the assessment of a future job or a project and focus on the aspects that are the key.

 

And secondly, because it offers an easy tool to balance intuitive and analytical aspects of a business whereas in the practice there is often a conflict between these two.

 

+Irena Čebulj, Head of Marketing Communications, Gorenjska banka

Irena Čebulj, Head of Marketing Communications at Gorenjska banka

Irena Čebulj, Head of Marketing Communications at Gorenjska banka

Read more >

 

Simon Ručigaj, Business Consultant, Media Specialist

This workshop led by Marko Savić has proven to be an effective training in fast and creative thinking, searching for holes in the idea of business model innovation while at the same time searching for new business opportunities.

 

His active coaching approach is encouraged throughout the activities, pace has not yielded. The organization was excellent in all respects.

 

I recommend it. +Simon Ručigaj, Business Consultant, Media Specialist

Business Consultant, Media Specialist

Simon Ručigaj, Business Consultant, Media Specialist

Read more >

 

Polonca Peterca, Freelance designer and Illustrator

Workshop Design your new business models has shown the importance of co-working with different personnel profiles.

 

I recommend it to all organizations and individuals, especially to creative people who recognize the importance of creativity in their business development but realize that creativity itself is not enough. The future lies in co-working. There were individuals with different backgrounds in the groups and some of them were not able to get rid of their everyday roles to start creating.

 

Marko feels great in the role of a lecturer and leader. The atmosphere at the workshop was very relaxed. +Polonca Peterca, Freelance designer and Illustrator

Polonca Peterca, Freelance designer and illustrator

Polonca Peterca, Freelance designer and Illustrator

Read more >

 

Boris Viktorovski, Management Board Member for Sales, Don Don

The programme of the workshop was very interesting and systematic. The lecturer definitely respected all the rules a person should follow when giving a presentation. I have been to many seminars before but some only seemed like a waste of time. I was pleasantly surprised by Marko Savić in the role of a lecturer. The material was presented in a clear and understandable manner and the connection of different parts of the workshop was done in an appropriate way.

 

Practical video examples and group work, especially playing the “Build a tower, build a team” exercise, were very interesting. Creation itself on the business model canvas seemed a bit too short with short time for individual analysis. Here I think the lecturer should take more time to explain where the errors were and in which direction groups should continue. Of course it is hard to judge whether this concept would be time appropriate due to only one day duration of the workshop especially because of the large number of participants at the workshop.

 

It is my pleasure to recommend the workshop and the experience I gained from it, because through the creation of new business models we learn how to work in a group and to find new or develop old business ideas. +Boris Viktorovski, Management Board Member for Sales, Don Don

Read more >

 

Robert Klun, Architect and Director of KLUN ambienti

The workshop is constructive, highlights the importance of creativity, labour inputs and energy for the long run.

 

The concept of design thinking should be integrated into every development company! +Robert Klun, architect and director of KLUN ambienti

Read more >

 

Workshop:

Design your new business models

Place:

workshop for the company TSmedia, najdi.si – search engine, Ljubljana

Date:

March 27th, 2012

Mitja Jereb, Marketing Director at TSmedia

An interesting and useful workshop!

 

In only one day you learn about a transparent process you can use for your team and how they should always check their ideas before they commerce. It is a way of thinking in which a team is able to speed the promising business ideas and ground the uneconomic ones.

 

I would recommend the workshop to anyone who has a lot of idea and works in a team. +Mitja Jereb, M. Sc., Corporate Marketing Director, TSmedia

Mitja Jereb, Marketing Director at TSmedia

Mitja Jereb, Marketing Director at TSmedia

Read more >

 

Workshop:

Design your new business models

Place:

Nest – Coworking, Berlin

Date:

February 25th, 2012

Estuardo Calderón Scheel, PM soft skills Trainer

What did I like? A very structured and mature way to bring the business model canvas didactically over. The design of the presentation.

 

What could be better? More time to correct issues – a conversation instead of a lecture from the beginning. Especially for the first presentation of the business model canvas, a round of introductions at the beginning and a feedback session at the end. Facilitated reflection phases after each exercise. +Estuardo Calderón Scheel, PM soft skills Trainer

Estuardo Calderón Scheel, PM soft skills Trainer

Estuardo Calderón Scheel, PM soft skills Trainer

Read more >

 

Workshop:

Design your new business models

Place:

Workshop for VE-ZA, a non-profit organization for creativity and social development, Trbovlje

Date:

January 18th, 2012

Davorin Žnidarič, master of organization

The workshop in Trbovlje led by Mr. Savić gave me a new perspective on the organization of the business model. Although I was familiar with the basic concepts, it is the “canvas” method that offered an approach that differs from conventional visualizations.

 

I like to attend seminars, meetings and conferences in the field of organization and management, mainly due to new findings as well as new ideas that arise in seminars and workshops as it was the case at this one in Trbovlje. The approach and interpretation were at a high level.

 

Beginning with the first presentation slides the lecturer seemed to command all the communication strategies and resources, which he interprets. Subsequent “exercises” were conducted in a constructive way. A way that established confidence, motivation and playfulness, and on the other hand, presented an interesting team work and modern ways of organizing and managing projects. +Davorin Žnidarič, master of organization

Read more >

 

Tadeja Bučar, freelance / co-founder at VE-ZA / president of PUNKTcc

At work I solve communication challenges for a wide variety of companies and organizations. Lately, I have noticed that the vast majority of organizations are somehow lost as the market in Slovenia reacts mostly to price. It is difficult for the businesses to admit that, especially the ones that have been on the market for some time. Price sensitivity, we know, is not something on which to bet, as there always may be someone who is and will be cheaper. So how do we design strategic communication, which should follow company’s business strategy?

 

Workshop Design your new business models opened a new important aspect for me. Companies need to move away from business strategies / plans / visions / actions (or nothing!), into the reflection of the business model. The model that is presented is about the change of thinking and people working in design business can quickly adopt it and apply it. Since it is simple, understandable, and made for life it is something new and at the same time normal. At least for most businesses I know.

 

It is a concept that can make the foundations of each company. It offers tremendous options for change. The model goes from the idea to the adaptation of it. In short, it allows experimentation which is essential in the business environment.

 

Participation obligatory! Even for those who are just thinking or suspecting that they have a need for self-realization in one of their business sides. So — highly recommended for start-ups, co-working spaces, conceptual initiatives, local communities and for those looking for integration of social needs with an economic unit. For your own mad ideas and their development.

 

The workshop is about how to connect the idea in your business and create an environment in which we are all happy and creative. Utopia? Absolutely not. Utopia is to believe that this is not possible. It is about a concept which comes in handy in everyday life. Meet the Canvas!

 

About Marko — at the workshop, he is the motivator, the expert and business strategy consultant, the man to talk to, great debater at lunch, “time keeper”, investor, trainer, storyteller, facilitator, and lecturer. It is obvious that he enjoys the workshop and learns from it himself.

 

It’s fun. +Tadeja Bučar, freelance / co-founder at VE-ZA / president of PUNKTcc

Tadeja Bučar, freelance / co-founder at VE-ZA / president of PUNKTcc

Tadeja Bučar, freelance / co-founder at VE-ZA / president of PUNKTcc

Read more >

 

Workshop:

Design your new business models

Place:

workshop conducted for the brand I was here™, Ptuj

Date:

January 15th, 2012

Kristijan Perčič, Management Consultant, Anton Martin Slomšek Institute

An extremely useful workshop. I recommend it to all who want to create a business. +Kristijan Perčič, Management Consultant, Manager of Podravska region, Anton Martin Slomšek Institute | eLearning project

Read more >

 

Leave a reply

