Review of the book: Managing Oneself (Harvard Business Review Classics)

Managing Oneself (Harvard Business Review Classics) (Harvard Business Review Classics) Managing Oneself by Peter F. Drucker

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Really interesting to find out that this book has only 60 small pages. I don’t know what I actually expected but this was a nice surprise. In the book there are some really good advices.

Successful careers are not planned

The first thing to remember from this book in my opinion is that successful careers are not planned. But naturally one has to be prepared for it. Even more, if you succeed in your career you should develop a parallel career.

Maybe even more important to remember is that it’s everyone’s duty to take responsibility for your relationships. You should ask everyone with whom you work the following question: what do I need to know about your strengths, how you perform, your values, and your proposed contribution? Naturally the answers to those questions is something everybody should have for himself too, especially if you are above mid 20.

How do you perform better?

And then there is something very interesting to me. What should I know about myself in order to find out how do you perform best: are you a reader or listener? Usually one cannot be both. The second thing you should ask is: How do you learn? By listening and reading or by writing? Or by doing? Or hearing yourself talk (usually too others). And not least: Do you work well with people or you a loner? And there are other questions I liked: Are you a decision maker or an adviser? Do you perform well under stress? Do you work best in a big organization or in a small one? And one question that the author explained in more detail: What are your values?

The secret in “managing” your boss

And the last thing to remember from this book: the secret in “managing” your boss is to adapt yourself to what makes your boss most effective.

View all my reviews >>

Marko Savić Linkedin profile

Marko Savić
I’m raising awareness on design thinking and business model innovation. Meet me in person at my next workshop. Don’t forget to follow this blog RSS feed or interact with me on Twitter.

Enhanced by Zemanta

Leave a reply

